state laws at your finger tips
in concise, plain language
Legislation watch

2009 Senate Bill 264: Ban non fire-safe cigarettes

Public Act 56 of 2009

Introduced by Sen. Tupac Hunter (D) on February 19, 2009 To restrict sales of cigarettes to only those meeting the standard for self-extinguishing cigarettes established by the state of New York. Cigarette makers would have to certify and pay a $1,250 tax for each "brand family" every three years. Violations would be subject to fines up to $100,000 per month, and $25,000 per month for retailers. The bill also would increase various reporting requirements.   Official Text and Analysis.
Referred to the Senate Commerce & Tourism Committee on February 19, 2009
Reported in the Senate on May 7, 2009 With the recommendation that the substitute (S-1) be adopted and that the bill then pass.
Substitute offered in the Senate on May 13, 2009 To replace the previous version of the bill with one that revises details but does not change the substance of the bill as previously described.
The substitute passed by voice vote in the Senate on May 13, 2009
Passed 37 to 0 in the Senate on May 14, 2009 (same description)
To restrict sales of cigarettes to only those meeting the standard for self-extinguishing cigarettes established by the state of New York. Cigarette makers would have to certify and pay a $1,250 tax for each "brand family" every three years. Violations would be subject to fines up to $100,000 per month, and $25,000 per month for retailers. The bill also would increase various reporting requirements.
Received in the House on May 14, 2009
Referred to the House Regulatory Reform Committee on May 14, 2009
Reported in the House on June 3, 2009 Without amendment and with the recommendation that the bill pass.
Passed 102 to 6 in the House on June 11, 2009 (same description)
To restrict sales of cigarettes to only those meeting the standard for self-extinguishing cigarettes established by the state of New York. Cigarette makers would have to certify and pay a $1,250 tax for each "brand family" every three years. Violations would be subject to fines up to $100,000 per month, and $25,000 per month for retailers. The bill also would increase various reporting requirements.
Signed by Gov. Jennifer Granholm on June 25, 2009

Comments